#### **GCA National Medals and Awards**

# 1982 - Cynthia Pratt Laughlin Medal - Richard Lawrence

"In appreciation of his nationally significant service to conservation and for his continual effort to conserve for future generations, the fragile heritage of natural beauty."

#### 1996 - Florens DeBevoise Medal - Dr. Edwin Ketchledge

"Awarded for horticultural achievement in the field of nurturing the sub alpine plants of the Adirondack High Peaks and his pioneering role in recovery, studying, cataloguing, and restoring."

# 2003 - Public Relations Award - Essex County Adirondack Garden Club

For the publication of *River Study*.

### 2008 - Margaret Douglas Medal - Betsy Lowe

"Awarded for notable service to the cause of conservation education."

#### **GCA Flower Show Award**

1992 - Marion Fuller Thompson Brown Conservation Award - Essex County Adirondack Garden Club for the Conservation Exhibit at the July 1992 Flower Show

### **GCA Zone III Awards - Members**

1
)
1
,

# GCA Zone III Awards - Non-Members

2003	William Johnston	Civic Improvement	
------	------------------	-------------------	--

2006 The Hon. George E. Pataki, Governor of the State of New York Conservation

Certificate

2006 Adirondack Architectural Heritage Organization Historic Preservation Certificate

#### **GCA Club Awards - Members**

1965	Francisca W. Paine	Medal of Merit
1971	Mary F. Prime	Medal of Merit
1983	Elizabeth W. Lawrence	Medal of Merit
1987	Margaret Byrne	Medal of Merit
1991	Ann Gardner	Medal of Merit
1991	Francisca P. Irwin	Horticultural Ach
4000		NA 1 1 ( NA ''

hievement

Euphemia V. Hall Medal of Merit 1992

1993 Charlotte Jones Horticultural Achievement 1994 Keela Rogers Horticulture Achievement 1994 Sally Webb Certificate of Appreciation 1995 Meredith Prime Certificate of Appreciation 1995 Ruth Blank **Conservation Achievement** 

Shirley Twitchell Flower Arranging 1995 Barbara Parnass 1995 Historic Preservation

1995	Sarah Disney	Horticulture Achievement
1995	Francisca P. Irwin	Medal of Merit
1997	Happy Marsh	Medal of Merit
1998	Jane Owens	Horticulture Achievement
2002	Suzanne Perley	Medal of Merit
2005	Nancy Howard	Conservation Achievement
2006	Keela Rogers	Medal of Merit
2006	Grace Crary	Medal of Merit
2007	Happy Marsh	Medal of Merit

### **GCA Club Awards - Non-Members**

1982	Greenleaf Chase	Horticulture Certificate of Acknowledgement
1997	Dr. Michael Kudish	Horticulture Certificate of Acknowledgement
1999	Robin Ulmer	Conservation Certificate of Acknowledgement
2010	Sally Patrick Johnson	Historic Preservation Commendation
2011	Adirondack Harvest	Civic Improvement Commendation
2012	Champlain Area Trails	Civic Improvement Commendation

# AGC Members - Serving on the Zone or National Level

Sarah Pell Director of GCA

Francisca Warren Paine Director and Member at large of GCA

Francisca Paine Irwin Zone III Director

Zone III Endowment Committee Representative

Zone III Conservation Representative Zone III Publications Representative

Ann Gardner GCA Treasurer

Zone III Founder's Fund Representative

Zone III Nominating Committee Representative Chairman of the National GCA Policy Committee

Happy Marsh Zone III Awards Representative

Vice-Chair of the National GCA Awards Committee

Zone III Conservation and NAL Representative

NAL Committee, Vice Chairman, Forests & Redwoods

#### **AGC Club Awards**

Nancy Howard

# **Gretta Prince Memorial GCA Cachepot**

1993 Liz Ackerman1994 Mary Hale

1995 Suzanne Perley

1996 Barbara Parnass

1997 Sarah Disney

1998 Kathy Speert

1999 Euphemia V. Hall

2000 Keela Rogers

2001 Betsy Whitman

2002 Ellin Glenn

2003 Happy Marsh

2004 Caroline Lussi 2005 Gussie Baker

2006 Renee Lewis

2007 Maureen Ecclesine

2008	Suzanne	Perley
------	---------	--------

2009 Delia Thompson

2010 Mary Beal

2011 Grace Crary, Lynne Perry

2012 Nancy Howard, Liz Jaques

2013 Colleen Van Hoeven2014 Lynne Perry

2015 Laura Steenburg

2016

2017 Cindy Palen

2018 Barbara Hail, Jennifer Lagor

### **Community Awards to ECAGC Members**

# **Mary Featherstone Prime Award**

1983 Elizabeth Wadhams Lawrence

1993 Keela Rogers

### **Essex County Bar Association Liberty Bell Award**

1990s Keela and Jim Rogers

1993 Francisca P. Irwin

2005 Suzanne Perlev

2008 Angel Brown & Kellum Smith

#### Adirondack Museum Harold K. Hochschild Award

2001 Janet Decker

2008 Meredith Prime

#### New York State Planning Federation Pomeroy Award for Zoning Achievement --

2003 Suzanne Perley for her planning efforts for the Town of Essex

# Other Awards Given Occasionally

### Conservation Award with Poem by Sarah D. Lowrie

Endangered Amphibian Species Award - Keela Rogers

Red Dot Special Commendation Award - Grace Crary "In recognition of outstanding performance in the organization for an ECAGC Flower Show, by demonstrating extraordinary spirit, commitment, enthusiasm, patience, and grace under pressure, and by inspiring others to participate."

# Faithful Flower (A painted wooden flower given to long-term members)

Ardelle Sanderson – 44 years of service

Lidie McBurney – 42 years of service

Claire Barnett - 26 years of service

Kathleen Bergamini – 34 years of service

Margaret Byrne – 32 years of service

Melissa Davis - 25 years of service

Ann Gardner – 31 years of service

Cynthia Grant - 21 years of service

Louise Gregg – 18 years of service

Frisky Hickey – 24 years of service

Catherine Johnston – 12 years of service

Lou Lockwood – 36 years of service

Caroline Lussi – 18 years of service Meredith Prime – 24 years of service Peggy Prime – 18 years of service Ora Smith – 12 years of service Kathy Speert – 17 years of service Shirley Twichell – 12 years of service Virginia Weeks-Moreau – 34 years of service

# **Green Thumb Award (A glove with a green thumb)**

Anne Gardner Peg Byrne

Order (or Award) of Merit – for wayside stands and filling stations "that come up to certain requirements."

The award is the cast iron bunchberry emblem.